Hephaestion on Consecration

1 Introduction

N. Hephaestion, Apotelesmatics3.7

2 Translation

On Consecrations1

In the temples, one must consecrate cult statues prepared in the suitable form, and likewise suitable material, as the wise Egyptians and the other ancients have handed down, while Selene is waxing; for the powers of those consecrated (telesthentōn) in this manner are rendered more divine and ensouled2 due to the cosmic motion.

Each of the sacred objects and cult statues must properly be prepared and consecrated (hieroun), when Selene is in trigon3 with Zeus, and Zeus is in harmonious relation towards her, i.e., in the same trigon, and Helios is figured likewise,4 and Kronos likewise is in his own trigon;5 and with the other stars in the same fashion,6 the sacred objects and cult statues must be prepared; furthermore, it is auspicious to prepare them when the planets are in their exaltations and houses, and none of the malefic stars are opposed.7

One must consecrate Fortune when Selene is in her own trigon, and so is Aphrodite;8 and if in Capricorn or9 Cancer, it is suitable.
The Mother-of-Gods: in Leo, Taurus or Capricorn.
Demeter, Kore and Pluton: in Virgo or Taurus.
Osiris: Pisces, Aquarius, Taurus.
Nike: Virgo, Cancer.
Sarapis: Taurus, Leo, Sagittarius.
Asclepius and Hygieia: in Sagittarius or Pisces.
Dionysus: in Virgo or Capricorn.
Heracles: in Gemini or Leo.
Eros and Charites: in the zodiac signs10 and exaltation11 of Aphrodite.
Nemesis: in the zodiac signs of Kronos.12

And likewise for the other gods, one must make the cult statues (agalmata), images (eikones) or engraved gems set in rings13 and consecrate (telein) and enshrine (ananeoun) them when Selene is suitable in the aforesaid zodiac signs.

1 Strictly speaking, this is only the last portion of a composite chapter On Foundations and Buildings and Consecrations and does not have a separate heading.
9 Here and in the following, ‘or’ translates kai (‘and’); obviously, it cannot be meant that Selene must be in two or three different signs.
10 Taurus and Libra.
11 Pisces.
12 Capricorn and Aquarius.
13 Consecrated gems are effectively miniaturized cult statues.